What mandatory auto insurance laws exist in Indiana?
- Indiana has a Financial Responsibility Law in place, which requires that all drivers have the ability to pay for any and all costs incurred as a result of an accident if they are found to be at fault. Indiana driver’s can demonstrate proof of financial responsibility through a filing of a bond or a certificate of self-insurance. Indiana drivers can also have a deposit of $40,000 in cash or securities held by the state. The best way to prove financial responsibility Oakwood Legal Group personal injury firm, however, is by carrying the state’s minimum liability coverages.
- In the state of Indiana, the minimum liability coverages are $25,000 per injured person up to $50,000 per accident, and $10,000 of property damage insurance.
- If you are caught driving without insurance, your license will be suspended for 90 days. The first offense carries a $150 reinstatement fee, and the second offense carries a 90- day license suspension, and a $225 reinstatement fee. Third offenses or more will cost you your license for 90 days and a $300 reinstatement fee. If you violate Indiana auto insurance laws twice within the same year, you will lose your license for a year.
What is the Minimum Liability Coverage (Bodily Injury amounts per person, per accident, and property damage amounts):
If you buy automobile insurance in NYC and get in a car accident in the Bronx, your policy must include minimum liability coverage of:
$25,000 per injured person up to $50,000 per accident
$10,000 for property damage
What are the Rental Car Insurance Requirements?
In the state of Indiana and the vast majority of other states, rental car companies must provide the state required amount of liability insurance. This will cost you anywhere from $7-$14 a day. If your personal auto insurance policy includes the minimum amounts of coverage for rental cars or your credit card offers coverage, you can waive the car rental company’s coverage by signing a Collision Damage Waiver (CDW).
What are the rules pertaining to Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage?
Each newly written Indiana auto liability policy must include uninsured and underinsured motorist’s coverage unless the policyholder rejects it in writing. Minimum liability limits are:
Uninsured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $25,000/$50,000
Property Damage: $10,000
Underinsured Motorists: Bodily Injury: $50,000 (if you opt for UM/UIM)
The uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage allows you to collect these damages from your own insurance company. Davidovich lawyer denver can help you in these issues.