In the state of Indiana, driving under the influence is a Class C misdemeanor for first offenses. If you are caught driving under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, cocaine, methamphetamine, or even prescription drugs, you will be cited for DUI. DUI lawyers in Baltimore are strictly enforced. Violating DUI laws in the state of Indiana can result in license revocation, hefty fines, and jail time. In fact, first DUI offenses can cost the driver up to $5,000. Indiana DUI fines are among some of the highest in the country.
What is the blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) limit in the state of Indiana?
In the state of Indiana, it is a crime to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. Sentence enhancements exist for cases involving a BAC of 0.15% or higher.
In the state of Indiana what is the administrative license suspension period for a first offense?
In the state of Indiana, if you get arrested for DUI, the administrative license suspension time for a first offense is 6 months. Under administrative license suspension, the drivers’ license will be taken before conviction when he either fails or refuses to be tested for alcohol or drugs. The driver may obtain a limited license after the first 30 days of the revocation period. Experienced criminal lawyers at https://www.dodlaw.com/ knows the ins and outs of such types of cases.
In the state of Indiana, what are the penalties for a first DUI offense? Second offense?
If you are convicted of DUI in the state of Indiana and it is your first offense, you will spend up to a year in jail and you will have to pay fines ranging from $300 up to $5,000. Your driver’s license will be suspended for no less than 30 days and you will be placed on probation. The court will determine the probation period. First offenses may also include interlock at your own expense. For second DUI offenses, you may spend anywhere from 5 days up to 3 years in jail. Penalties may include community service, interlock, and your license will be suspended for a minimum of 6 months up to 2 years. Fines will be no more than $10,000 and you will have to enroll in a substance abuse course. Courses and interlock are at the driver’s own expense.
If you are convicted of a third DUI, you will go to jail for a minimum of 10 days up to a maximum of 3 years. At this point, the court may determine that you are a habitual traffic violator. If this happens, you could be sentenced to an additional 1-8 years in prison. If you are placed on probation, you will have to enroll in a substance abuse program, and install an interlock device on your car — at your own expense.