Indiana (IN) Teen Auto Insurance Laws, Rates & Requirements

In the state of Indiana, teen drivers must complete two licensing stages before they are eligible to receive a full unrestricted driver’s license. Decreasing the number of teen car crashes in Indiana is one of the state’s top priorities for curbing Personal injury Bill Umansky cases, which is why it has enacted Graduated Licensing laws, as well as a number of additional laws aimed at ending distracted driving and teen drunk driving. Continue reading to learn more about Indiana teen driving laws and the consequences for violating them.

Indiana Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and Driver License Requirements

Indiana Graduated Licensing (GDL) has two phases: learner permit and operator license. Teen’s aged 15 or older can apply for a driver education learner permit or if 16, a validated learner permit. The learner permit or “learner license” allows the student driver to enroll in a state approved driver education course.

To obtain a learner permit, the applicant must:

•    Provide proof of identity and age
•    Pass a vision test
•    Provide proof of enrollment in a state approved driver education program
•    Provide a signed proof of financial responsibility form from a parent or legal guardian (if under age 18)

An intermediate license or operator license allows the teen to practice driving with an adult that holds a valid drivers license. To obtain an intermediate license, the applicant must be at least 16 years of age, and he must:

•    Pass a written roadway test•    Pass a vision test
•    Provide a signed proof of responsibility for from a parent or guardian
•    Provide proof of age and identity

Under Indiana’s GDL program, a teen is eligible to apply for an Indiana driver’s license after successful completion of all phases, provide he is age 17 or older and has maintained a clean driving record. To apply for an unrestricted Indiana driver’s license, the applicant must provide all of the documentation above and provide a waiver that states that he does  not have to take a roadway skill test. Many applicants qualify for this waiver. If you do not qualify for the waiver, you will have to take a roadway test with a Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) examiner.

Don’t hesitate to visit for accident and dui lawyer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *